DMK retains four seats in Virudhunagar district

After allocating three sitting AIADMK Assembly seats to its alliance partners, the DMK has retained four seats represented by its party members in Virudhunagar district.

The party has also renominated its four MLAs – K.K.S.S.R. Ramachandran (Aruppukottai), Thangam Thennarasu (Tiruchuli), A.R.R. Seenivasan (Virudhunagar) and S. Thangapandian (Rajapalayam).

While Sivakasi and Srivilliputtur (Reserved) seats have been allotted to the Congress, the Sattur Assembly constituency has been given to the MDMK whose candidate ARR Raguraman will contest on the DMK’s Rising Sun symbol.

With this, the DMK will lock horns with its arch rival AlADMK in Aruppukottai and Rajapalayam and fight BJP in Virudhunagar and All India Moovendar Munnetra Kazhagam in Tiruchuli.

In Aruppukottai, the party heavyweight Mr. Ramachandran will take on AIADMK’s former MLA, Vaigaiselvan and Mr. Thangapandian of the DMK is now pitted against the two-time MLA from Sivakasi Assembly constituency, K.T. Rajenthra Bhalaji, after the incumbent Minister shifted his constituency to Rajapalayam.

Mr. Thennarasu will seek his third consecutive re-election from Tiruchuli.

Two-time MLA from Virudhunagar Mr. Seenivasan will fight the BJP candidate.

Source: Read Full Article