Attack on bus, driver: two get four-year jail term


A Thoothukudi court on Wednesday sentenced two persons to undergo four-year imprisonment for damaging a government bus and assaulting the driver in 2014.

Second Additional District Judge P.S. Gowthaman awarded the jail sentence to V. Ayyapparaj and S. Lakshmanan, and imposed a fine of ₹1,000 on them each.

The incident took place on September 28, 2014, after former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa was awarded a jail sentence in a corruption case. Pudukottai police had charged the duo with assaulting Murugan, the government bus driver, and damaging the bus.

Source: Read Full Article