Police arrest seven for circulating currency

Special teams of police officials, led by Superintendent of Police D. Kishore Babu, arrested seven persons on the charge of circulating counterfeit currency on Monday.

The names of the arrested persons were given as Srinivas, Ramkrishna, Ayyalappa, Hanumanth, Prakash, Basavaraj and Syed Usman.

The police said that they arrested six persons from various parts of the State and the seventh accused from Telangana State. They also seized counterfeit currency in the Rs. 2,000 and Rs. 500 with a face value of Rs. 4.52 lakh.

In a release here, the police said that acting on a tip-off, police officials arrested the accused. The police also seized material stored in one of the accused person’s home in Deodurg.

A case was registered in Deodrug station. The police are conducting further investigation. Additional Superintendent of Police S.B. Patil, Deputy Superintedent of Police G. Harish, Sharanappa Subedar, Circle Inspectors of Police Sanjeev Kumar and G. Chandrashekhar, Sub-Inspectors of Police L.B. Agni and Siddarameshwar and constables Krishna, Monappa, Ganganna and Prakash were on the team.

Source: Read Full Article