Bulk water supply to villages by Aug. 31: a

Minister for Finance and Civil Supplies Eatala Rajender has instructed the officials to take all measures to provide bulk supply of drinking water under Mission Bhagiratha in all the villages of erstwhile Karimnagar district by August 31.

At a review meeting here on Tuesday on the developmental works being taken up in the rural areas of erstwhile integrated Karimnagar district, the Finance Minister said the government had taken up the Mission Bhagiratha programme of providing drinking water to each and every household in the State as a prestigious project.

Asking the officials to expedite the process of supplying bulk water to the villages by August 31, he directed the officials to ensure that they provide water through tap connections to each household by Dasara.

Regular review

Instructing the officials to oversee the execution of the works by constantly reviewing the progress village-wise, he said that the Mission Bhagiratha executing agency would maintain the drinking water supply scheme for a period of 10 years and they would take up all repairs, leakages and damages on their own and the gram panchayats have no responsibility over its maintenance. He said that they had sanctioned the overhead tanks to the meet the drinking water supply demand for the coming 30 years.

Overhead powerlines

He also instructed the officials to remove the electricity wires passing over houses to avoid accidents and mishaps due to power supply. The government had sanctioned Rs. 30 crore for removing live wires passing over the houses, he said adding that in Karimnagar town alone they had spent Rs. 20 crore for removal of live high-tension wires from residential areas.

CC Roads

He said that they were laying CC roads in all villages and converting the existing single roads in all mandals into double roads and laying four-lane roads from the mandal headquarters to the district headquarters. Rajya Sabha member V. Lakshmikantha Rao, Government whip Koppula Eshwar, council whip P. Sudhakar Reddy, ZP chairperson Tula Uma, legislators B. Shoba, P. Madhukar, V. Satish Kumar, K. Vidyasagar Rao, Rasamayi Balakishan, MLC Naradasu Laxman Rao were present.

Source: Read Full Article