Lok Sabha 2019 constituency: Jharkhand’s Lohardaga will see direct fight between BJP and Congress

The Lohardaga parliamentary constituency in Jharkhand is reserved for the members of Scheduled Tribes.

The Lohardaga Lok Sabha seat covers three districts of Lohardaga, Ranchi and Gumla. The constituency comprises of Lohardaga (ST), Gumla (ST), Bishunpur (ST), Sisai (ST) and Mandar (ST) assembly segments.

The Congress and the BJP, the key rivals parties, are banking heavily on Sarna religion code, amendments in land laws like Chhotanagpur Tenancy Act (CNT) and the issue of national security to woo voters in this tribal-dominated seat.

The key issues like rail link to Gumla, completion of the bypass road, rampant pollution from bauxite transportation, absence of industries, unemployment, large scale migration, inadequate health and education infrastructure as well as pervading Left-wing extremism have not been addressed by these parties in a region that mostly dominated by Scheduled Tribes.

The BJP’s leader and Union minister Sudarshan Bhagat won in the Lok Sabha elections in 2009 and 2014 and Congress’ Rameshwar Oraon was successful in 2004 polls.

Polling in Jharkhand will be held in four phases from April 29 to May 19. Votes will be counted on May 23.

Here are a few details about the Lohardaga Lok Sabha seat:

State: Jharkhand

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Lohardaga

Polling date: April 29

2019 candidates: Sudarshan Bhagat (BJP), Sukhdeo Bhagat (Congress)

Sitting MP, party: Sudarshan Bhagat, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 6,489

Runner up name, party: Rameshwar Oraon (Congress)

Number of voters in 2014: 651,460

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 58.21%

Number of women voters in 2014: 540,261

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1,482

First Published:
Apr 24, 2019 18:21 IST

Source: Read Full Article