Record polling in Ernakulam, Chalakudy

The final polling figures from Ernakulam has surprised the pollsters as 77.54% of the voters have exercised their franchise in the parliament constituency.

In the 2014, the constituency witnessed 73.58% voters exercising their voting rights.

Chalakudy recorded 80.44% voting this time when the final voting figures were tabulated. Last time, the constituency recorded 76.92% voter turnout.

Among the seven Assembly constituencies in the Chalakudy Lok Sabha constituency, Kunnathunadu recorded the maximum voter turnout with 84.38 % of the electorate joining the democratic process followed by Perumbavoor (81.69), Kaippamangalam (80.21), Aluva (80.52), Kodungalloor (78.8), and Chalakudi (77.73).

In Ernakulam, Paravur with 81.68 % polling topped the list.

While Kalamassery witnessed 80.07 % voting, it was 78.33 % in Vypeen, 75.23 % in Kochi, 77.13% in Thripunithura, 73.27 % in Ernakulam, and 76.06 % in Thrikkakara.

Source: Read Full Article